The Erste Bank Ice Hockey League (Erste Bank Eishockey Liga - EBEL) is registered as a non-profit association since October 2005 which brings together ice hockey clubs for the purpose of organizing, planning and carrying out league play of youth- and senior leagues. Its members are the 12 participating international icehockey teams from Austria (UPC Vienna Capitals / EHC Liwest BlackWings Linz / EC Red Bull Salzburg / HC TWK Innsbruck “die Haie” / Dornbirner Eishcokey Club / Moser Medical Graz99ers / EC VSV / EC KAC), Czech Republic (HC Orli Znojmo), Hungary (SAPA Fehervar AV19), Slovenia (HDD Telemach Olimpija Ljubljana) and Italy (HC Bozen Südtirol).

Originally the league was an Austrian icehockey league before accepting HK Acroni Jesenice as the first international team to participate in the season 2006/2007. In the following years additional clubs from Slovenia, Hungary, Czech Republic, Croatia and Italy joined the first steady international league in Europe.

The club-presidency persists of the league-president Dr. Peter Mennel, Vice-President Dr. Karl Safron, Vice-President Dr. René Dimter and Vice-President Blanka Elekes Szentagotai (representing the international teams). The league topics are discussed and prepared in several committees (Marketing / Security / Sports / Referee) and then to be decided at general assemblies or president meetings.

The key activity is to run and organise a professional international icehockey league (EBEL) on one side and to develop young hockey players by organising 2 youth leagues (Erste Bank Young Stars League (EBYSL) for Under20 (U20)-Players and the Erste Bank Juniors League (EBJL) for the U18-Players) on a professional level. Both youth leagues are also played internationally – EBYSL (14 teams from 4 different EU-countries) / EBJL (18 Teams from 5 different EU-countries)!
The EBEL is dedicated to growth and development of ice hockey, providing exemplary leadership and governance by diligently observing the principles of democracy, fairness, solidarity and transparency for its Members.
Every icehockey player in Member-Teams has the right to participate in a safe, positive and enjoyable environment and to be treated with respect, dignity and fairness in the process. The EBEL and each of its Members do not accept and will not tolerate harassment, abuse or violence in any of its many forms, and particularly where people in positions of responsibility unfairly exercise their power and authority over others.
Membership in the EBEL includes the acceptance of responsibilities by every Member for its role in implementing its sporting goals while acting conscientiously and responsibly to respect the environment.

The head office of the league is located in Vienna. The league–staff consists of a General Manager, a Chief Organising Officer, a Financial Manager, a Director of Hockey Operations, a main responsible person for the organization of U20/U18 League, three Media-Officers and three Junior-Managers in respective areas on a full time basis.
Furthermore the Erste Bank Eishockey Liga has a cooperation contract with the Austrian Icehockey federation which defines all responsibilities regarding sport / referees / marketing & rights. There is a close cooperation as the Austrian Icehockey Federation is a member of the international Icehockey Federation (IIHF) and the Austrian Sports Organization (BSO).

The Chief Organizing Officers of the EBEL will run the project of the “European Rookie CUP” as the project coordinator.

  scroll to top